A moment of transcendence

I am sitting in Starbucks, reading about the cave image in Plato’s Republic, reading about the way that the light of the sun illuminates reality and makes it hard to discern the objects that lurk in darkness.  Meanwhile, the sun shines brilliantly through the window into my eyes, and onto my computer screen.  In the dazzling light, I can hardly make out the letters on my computer screen.

Is the internet a new version of Plato’s cave?  Are we frittering away our lives in unreality, while the sun beckons to us each moment about something else, something new, something bright and warm — some reality I can hardly even begin to imagine?  Who shall lead me up the difficult pass, and into the light of day?

Leave a Reply

